Producer Requirements - (Individuals)

A natural person required to be licensed under the laws of this state to sell, solicit, or negotiate insurance.

If you fail to select all the lines of authority you wish to apply for, you will have to reapply through NIPR to add the line with additional fees. The Department will not add that line without the licensing fee.


QUALIFICATIONS

Prelicensing Information
  • Life – 20 hour course on Life Insurance
  • Accident & Health or Sickness (Disability) – 20 hour course on Health Insurance
  • Combined Life / Accident & Health or Sickness (Disability) – 40 hour course on Life & Health Insurance
  • Property – 20 hour course on Property Insurance
  • Casualty – 20 hour course on Casualty Insurance
  • Combined Property & Casualty – 40 hour course on Property & Casualty Insurance
  • Personal Lines – 20 hour course on Personal Lines Insurance
  • Bail Bonds – 20 hour course on Bail Bonds
  • Variable Life and Variable Annuity Products line of authority – exempt from both prelicensing course and examination; however, must already hold and maintain “Life” line of authority, must have already passed securities examinations “Series 6” or “Series 7” and “Series 63” or “Series 66 “ and must be licensed with a registered Broker Dealer in accordance with the rules of the Alabama Securities Commission.


FINGERPRINT REQUIREMENT



PROOF OF CITIZENSHIP REQUIREMENT



  • *Once exam has been passed, Please allow 3-5 Business Days before applying for your Insurance Producer license.
  • Applicant must apply online through NIPR. Click Here
    For list of licensing fees click here.
    NOTE: NIPR keeps the 1st application on their server for 30 days in case there is an issue with it. If you need to reapply for another LOA, you will need to contact them to have them remove the old application so you can reapply for the new LOA.
  • For individuals who meet the Military Family Jobs Opportunity under Regulation 165, please click here for further information.


For Crop, Legal Service, Dental Service, Motor Club, Travel, or Self-Service Storage please click on the respective line of insurance below.

Crop | Legal Service | Dental Service | Motor Club | Travel | Self-Service Storage

All individual producers must renew their license biennially based on their BIRTH MONTH whether the individual was born in an EVEN or ODD year.

MORE DETAIL



HOW TO HAVE YOUR PRODUCER LICENSE REISSUED AFTER EXPIRATION



Alabama Appointment Backdating

Effective May 1, 2018, Alabama will no longer allow backdating on effective dates on Appointments and Terminations. The effective date of the Appointment and Terminations will be the date the transaction is processed. Any effective date entered will not be honored. Please contact NIPR Support at support@nipr.com with any questions or for additional information.

TOTAL INITIAL LICENSE FEE (per insurer) - $80.00
Biennial License Renewal Fee - $70.00
Late Fee - $50.00
Notice of Appointment Fee - $40.00
Appointment Renewal Fee - $25.00



ADDITIONAL LICENSING LINKS



CONTACT INFO